Confirmed: BMW Team RLL Driver Line-up for 24-hours of Daytona

The 2022 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season opener is fast approaching. And we still do not know who will be driving for BMW M Team RLL. However today, we learned who will be driving in the 2022 24 Hours of Daytona on the last weekend of the month.

The two BMW M4 GT3s, the #24 and #25, will be driven by two quartets. Sheldon van der Linde, Marco Wittmann and Nick Yelloly will drive the #24 car. Connor De Phillippi, John Edwards, Augusto Farfus and Jesse Krohn will compete in the other M4 GT3 at the same time. In addition, Turner Motorsport will field a third M4 GT3 for the GTD class, with veteran driver Bill Auberlen at the wheel. Rob Foley, Michael Dinan and Jens Kligmann will also compete in the Turner Motorsport car.

The team is in the crucial phase of preparing for the first major IMSA highlight for the new BMW M4 GT3. They have opted for speed and experience – both at Daytona and with the new car, for the drivers who will compete in the two BMW M Team RLL BMW M4 GT3s.

Most factory drivers have already contested the 24 Hours of Daytona. Krack is confident that they will be well prepared going into the GTD PRO IMSA Series debut. He is also excited to see how Turner Motorsport will perform in the GTD class. Only two of the BMW M Team RLL’s eight drivers are first-timers in the endurance classic; the other six already took part in the race last year but in a BMW M8 GTE. We have van der Linde and Yelloly as the new faces in the line-up.

Check Also

Laguna Seca Blue Back on the BMW M3

Laguna Seca Blue, the iconic colour reminiscent of the legendary race track in California, has …